Uncategorized

Brussel-ing with Beets

Brussels sprouts tormented me as a kid.

Long time ago, when I was a wee child. I remember my first encounter with brussels sprouts. It was at our local Luby’s, I was in the salad section and came across these tiny green baby cabbage like vegetables. Being Leann, I love cabbage. Forever and always. So I assumed and was regrettably incorrect when it came down to the actual flavor profile of brussels sprouts. The tiny green cabbage-like vegetable tasted like a bitter, dirty and old indistinguishable cabbage. I was filled with disappoint and terrible mental scars.

Today, I gave brussels sprouts a second chance.

Of course, this second chance wasn’t given lightly. I made sure to pair the tiny sprouts with my one of my favorite sweet roots, beets. After preparing the mixture, I stared at my concoction with doubt for a few moments until I finally pulled myself together and took that first bite. I was in awe. The brussels sprouts reminded me nothing of that cold and tormented dinner night at Luby’s! They actually almost resembled broccoli according to my taste buds. Here’s how I transformed them:

  • 12oz of steamed brussels sprouts
  • 1 small cooked and sliced/cut beet
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoons of margarine
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Warm olive oil in small pan, combine brussels sprouts and beets in pan
  2. Season with salt and pepper based on preference

EASY PEASY!!

Literally probably one of the most simplest and eye opening combinations I have ever tasted! If you want, you could even place the two in the oven on a broil to add a little char on top. Then add a squeeze of lemon and zest for a fishing touch.

I ate it so fast that I wasn’t able to catch an awesome picture unfortunately. However, if anyone decides to try this at home just remember to think of me and send a nice picture my way.

Fun fanatic factBrussels sprouts are actually a member of the cabbage family!

Here’s another idea for a beet and brussels sprouts combination that’s worth a try.

Till next time my fellow peers!

Leave a Reply

